THE STATE OF TEXAS COUNTY OF GALVESTON COLLEGE OF THE MAINLAND COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

The Board of Trustees of COLLEGE OF THE MAINLAND COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT (COM) at the REGULAR MEETING, ON THE 25th DAY OF JANUARY 2021, in the Conference Center, within the College District; and the roll was called of the duly constituted officers and members of said Board, to wit:

Kyle Dickson Chairman
Alan Waters Vice Chairman
Melissa Skipworth Secretary
Donald Gartman Trustee
Verna Henson Trustee
William McGarvey Trustee
Dawn King Trustee

All said persons were present, except the following absentees:

Thus, constituting a quorum, whereupon, among other business, the following transacted at said meeting; a written order and resolution entitled:

ORDER AND RESOLUTION CALLING COMMUNITY COLLEGE TRUSTEE ELECTION

The Order was duly introduced for the consideration of the Board of Trustees and has been fully reviewed. The Order was then duly moved and seconded that the Order of Election be approved; and, after full discussion, the motion to approve the Order of Election prevailed and was approved by the following vote.

Ayes: 7

Nays: 0

The Chairman of the Board thereupon announced that the Order of Election was duly and lawfully approved and The Order was adopted as follows:

ORDER AND RESOLUTION CALLING THE COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEE ELECTION

THE STATE OF TEXAS, COUNTY OF GALVESTON
COLLEGE OF THE MAINLAND COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

WHEREAS, The Board of Trustees deems it necessary to call the election hereinafter described pursuant to the provisions of the Texas Education Code, Section 11.052, and the Federal Voting Rights Act of 1965, and

WHEREAS, Texas Election Code section 41.001 authorized the governing bodies of political subdivisions to conduct general and special election on the first Saturday in May or the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November.

THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED AND RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF COLLEGE OF THE MAINLAND (COM) THAT:

Section 1. A General Election for college board trustees shall be held for COM on the 1st day of May 2021, in which all registered voters residing in the COM Single Member District (SMD) 2 shall be entitled to vote for one candidate in SMD 2 and all registered voters residing in the COM SMD 3 shall be entitled to vote for one candidate in SMD 3. Candidates must file for a specific district and adhere to the filing deadlines accordingly. Candidate applications are available at COM District Student Center Building and on the COM District website; www.com.edu. The filing period for application for a position on the ballot for the COM District General election is January 13, 2021 at 8:00 a.m. through February 12, 2021 at 5:00 p.m. Candidates must file their applications in the COM District Student Center Building located at 1200 Amburn Road, Texas City, Texas 77591 in person or by mail.

Section 2. Notice of such election shall be posted and published as required by law.

Section 3. Ballots by mail shall be returned to the Early Voting Clerk;

Dwight D. Sullivan
Galveston County Clerk
P.O. Box 17253
Galveston, Texas 77552-7253

<u>Section 4</u>. Please see "Exhibit A" for the early voting locations and the hours that the polls are open. Voters residing in COM's taxing district may vote at any of the early voting locations.

<u>Section 5</u>. Please see "Exhibit B" for the Election Day voting locations and hours that the polls are open. Voters residing in COM's taxing district may vote at any of the early voting

locations or at such other locations as hereafter may be designated by the Galveston County Clerk and approved by the President of the College District.

(a) The Galveston County Clerk, Dwight D. Sullivan, is hereby designated as the Early Voting Clerk for Galveston County to perform those functions for College District voters who are qualified under state and federal law in Galveston County. Applications for ballots to be voted by mail should be mailed to:

Dwight D. Sullivan
Galveston County Clerk
P.O. Box 17253
Galveston, Texas 77552-7253
Faxed to: 409-765-3160

Emailed to: Dwight.sullivan@co.galveston.tx.us

Section 6. Joint Election. The College District has agreed to participate in a joint election with other participating governmental entities in Galveston County who are also holding elections on Election Day and will contract with the Galveston County for election services. The Board authorizes the Chair of the Board, the President of the College District, or the respective designee of either of such parties, to negotiate and enter into one or more joint election agreements and/or similar contracts or agreements if desired or if required to comply with applicable law, as permitted and in accordance with the provisions of the Texas Election Code, as amended.

<u>Section 7.</u> Election of trustees for each office shall be by a majority vote and the results of said election on May 1, 2021 shall be canvassed by the COM District contractor, Galveston County.

<u>Section 8.</u> Effective date: This Election Order is effective immediately upon approval of the trustees of the "COM" District.

PASSED AND APPROVED January 25, 2021

Kyle Dickson, Chair Board of Trustees

College of the Mainland

ATTEST:

Melissa Skipworth, Secretary

Board of Trustees

College of the Mainland

EXHIBIT A ENTITY VOTE CENTER ELECTION MAY 1, 2021

Dates & Times:

Monday, April 19, – Friday, April 23, 2021......8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Monday, April 26, - Tuesday, April 27, 2021......7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.

EARLY VOTING BRANCH LOCATIONS (Otros lugares para votar):

Justice Center 600 59th Street Galveston, Texas 77551

MUD 12 Building 2929 Highway 6 2nd Floor Bayou Vista, Texas 77563

La Marque Fire Station Admin. Bldg. 5715 Texas Ave. La Marque, Texas 77568

Nessler Community Ctr. 2010- 5th Ave. Surf Room Texas City, Texas 77590

Santa Fe City Hall 12002 Highway 6 Santa Fe, Texas 77510

Dickinson Community Ctr. 2714 Highway 3 Dickinson, Texas 77539

COM League City Campus 1411 W. Main St. League City, Texas 77573 Seaside Church 16534 Termini-San Luis Pass Rd. Jamaica Beach, Texas 77554

La Marque Community Rm. 1109 B Bayou Rd. La Marque, Texas 77568

Carver Park 6415 Park Ave. Texas City, Texas 77591

COM Main Campus 1200 Amburn Rd. Texas City, Texas 77591

West County Building 11730 Highway 6 Chambers Rm. Santa Fe, Texas 77510

Kemah Community Ctr. 800 Harris Ave. Kemah, Texas 77565

EXHIBIT B ELECTION DAY BRANCH LOCATIONS May 1, 2021 Times:

Saturday May 1, 2021......7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.

Seaside Church 16534 Termini-San Luis Pass Rd. Jamaica Beach, Texas 77554

La Marque Community Ctr. 1109 B Bayou Rd. La Marque, Texas 77568

Carver Park 6415 Park Ave. Texas City, Texas 77591

COM Main Campus Conference Ctr. 1200 Amburn Rd. Texas City, Texas 77591

West County Building 11730 Highway 6 Chambers Rm. Santa Fe, Texas 77510

Kemah Community Ctr. 800 Harris Ave. Kemah, Texas 77565 MUD 12 2929 Highway 6 2nd Floor Bayou Vista, Texas 77563

La Marque Fire Station Admin Bldg. 5715 Texas Ave. La Marque, Texas 77568

Nessler Community Ctr. 2010- 5th Ave. Surf Room Texas City, Texas 77590

Santa Fe City Hall 12002 Highway 6 Santa Fe, Texas 77510

Dickinson Community Ctr. 2714 Highway 3 Dickinson, Texas 77539

COM League City Campus 1411 W. Main St. League City, Texas 77573