
 

  

 
 

Protesting Property Value 
The most effective tax relief for Texas property owners!   

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  V1.24                                                     

Þ failure of the chief appraiser or ARB to deliver notice 

The Process  
You have until May 15th or 30 days from the date of the 
notice to file a formal protest.  State law requires that an 
informal conference be held in advance of the formal 
hearing.  If you “just show up” as in years past, you will 
be asked to complete the formal protest form.  When you 
mail, email or fax the protest form, request the evidence 
packet and appraisal card with sketch.  It is also wise to 
request the plat and neighborhood maps. You are legally 
entitled to receive the evidence packet no less than 14 
days before the ARB hearing.  This will enable you to be 
better prepared.  Only homesteaded property owners 
may protest online this year but only do so if you have 
good evidence for a  decrease (such as a recent contract 
purchasing at a lower value or a recent appraisal).  Offers 
received from no-reply@trueautomation.com (save this email 
address in your contacts or categorize as “safe”).   You will 
have seven (7) days to accept or deny or to upload  
documents or photos to support a lower value.   
 

Staff appraisers conduct the informal conference.  This is 
when the majority of reductions occur resulting from  
corrections of the records or depreciation being reported 
that was unknown (the appraisers have the authority to reach 
an agreement without the need for an ARB hearing).  If you 
reach an agreement with the appraiser, you will be asked 
to sign a waiver.  If not fully satisfied, you should note 
this on the waiver when signing.  If you do not wish to 
accept the proposed value, you may go straight to the 
ARB or ask to be rescheduled for a later date—it is best to 
be prepared for the ARB hearing.  If you are not satisfied 
with the ARB decision, you may file a lawsuit in District 
Court or request binding arbitration.   
 

Evidence Packet 
As stated previously, when mailing the protest form,  
request the evidence packet and appraisal card with 
sketch.    

Abbreviations Used Throughout 
 ARB = Appraisal Review Board 
 CA = Chief Appraiser (over CAD) 
 CAD = County/Central Appraisal District 
 CPA = Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts 
 GCTO = Galveston County Tax Office 
 TAC = County Tax Assessor Collector 
 

Texas Taxes 101 
The property tax process has four phases: 
  

Þ appraisal (determination of value by CADs) 
Þ equalization (protesting CAD value) 
Þ assessment (tax rate adoption, billing by TAC) 
Þ collection (by TAC) 

 
 

Taxes are assessed/calculated as follows: 
 

[(Value—Exemptions*) ÷ $100] x Rate = Tax Levy 
 

     *Percentage exemption applied first to provide greatest benefit to you  
 

CADs appraise property as of January 1st.  The appraisal 
phase is complete once preliminary values are approved 
by the ARB in April.  Appraisal notices are mailed to all 
new owners and if tax liability increases (based on the 
prior year tax rates).  If you have a tax agent you may not 
receive a notice so monitor the CAD website.  You do 
NOT have to receive a notice to protest.   
 

This document will guide you through the equalization  
process.  A successful appeal does NOT guarantee lower 
taxes if the value increased substantially (for homesteads 
protected by the 10% appraisal cap) or if tax rates increase. 
 

Your Rights As A Property Owner 
You have the right to protest any adverse action by the  
CAD concerning your property.  The most common are: 
 

Þ any action by the CA, CAD or ARB that adversely 
affects you/increases tax liability (including a value  
increase) 

Þ denial of an exemption 

Value for 

 
Value for 

 

Who’s Who in the Process? 
Voters elect county commissioners, city councils, school  
and community college boards who appoint 5 members of the CAD  
board (based on total taxes billed).  Beginning in July 2024, 3 elected  
members will join CAD boards in large Tx counties.  The CAD  
board adopts the budget, hires the Chief Appraiser (who is  
responsible for day-to-day operations and staff) and Taxpayer 
Liaison Officer (assists with citizen concerns) and adopt the  
Reappraisal Plan.  Beginning this year, the CAD board  
appoints ARB members!  The Tx Dept of Licensing &  
Regulation licenses appraisers.  The Comptroller oversees 
CADs through the property value study, Methods &  
Assistance Program and adopting and enforcing standards. 
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The evidence packet includes the following: 
Þ Property Record Card (with photo not sketch) 
Þ All sales in your neighborhood (NBHD SALES) 
Þ Sales Comparable Property Grid 
Þ Uniform & Equal list of homes in your  

neighborhood (NBHD U&E) 
Þ U&E Comparable Grid 

 

The most efficient way to file your protest and obtain the  
records (along with obtaining the neighborhood map) is 
via email to gcad@galvestoncad.org.   

 

Confirm Information & Know Your Neighborhood 
Whether or not you protest the value, obtain a copy of the 
appraisal card and neighborhood map or locate the 
neighborhood following the instructions in the power 
point.  Become familiar with your “neighborhood” so 
that you can gather current real estate information when 
properties are listed or sold.  Confirm the records are  
accurate including the condition.  Codes used on the card 
are listed on page 9.  Insure all exemptions you are  
entitled to are included (such as the homestead, over-65,  
disabled person, disabled vet or surviving spouses of each).   
 

 The appraisal district assumes all property in the area it 
defines as the “neighborhood” (definition on page 5) have 
the same quality of construction and features and are in 
the same condition.  If sales occur of at least 10% of the 
properties in the neighborhood, values increase/decrease.  
Know what you are being compared to. (See sample on 
page 6 of appraisal card to locate neighborhood.  When using 
online Interactive Map feature—the layers allow you to switch 
between address, account numbers and neighborhood IDs).   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Market Value Protest 
If your property is not “ready to sell” (is not in similar  
condition or have similar features of those selling) or requires 
repairs, take photographs, make a list and obtain cost  
estimates.  If you are unsure of market demand, contact a 
friendly real estate agent and have him or her help define 
needed updates, attend an open house or visit real estate 
websites for listings (this is your competition).  Sites such as 
www.houzz.com make it easy to determine ballpark costs 
of specific updates or repairs.  This analysis is typically 
adequate for an online or informal protest. 
 

Review the properties included in the evidence packet.  
Search for other sales.  Call real estate agents.  In addition 
to researching comparables provided by the CAD,  

CADs use mass appraisal which does not adjust for 
unique features.  The key, therefore, is to provide  

information that shows your property is different 
from sales or other properties in the  neighborhood.  

perform your own analysis of homes in your  
neighborhood using the Protest Spreadsheet (available at 
GCTO website at the bottom of the Tax Office homepage or use 
the paper version included on pages 10 and 11).  Adjust the 
“comps” by adding or subtracting for differences (see  
adjustments in the CAD packet as well as the example in the 
spreadsheet and on pages 6 and 7).  The worksheet includes 
formulas that perform many of the calculations for you.  
Focus on the differences! 
   
 
 
 
 
 
The date of value is January 1 so if you made repairs or 
updates after January 1, present the cost or receipts as the 
basis for reducing the value.  In the event of a disaster, 
you are now Constitutionally entitled to apply for a  
temporary exemption within 105 days of the disaster  
declaration.  Additional information is available on most 
CAD websites. 
   
Unequal Value Protest  
A protest based on unequal value requires the CAD to 
prove the appraisal ratio of your property is equal to or 
less than the median level of appraisal of a reasonable/
representative sample of other properties in the CAD, 
those that are similarly situated or of the same character.  
More simply put, is the value equal to or less than the 
median appraised value of a reasonable number of  
comparable properties after adjusting for differences.   
 

This method of protest is a bit more complicated unless 
you live in a subdivision where identical homes have 
been built and you find one with a lower value than 
yours.  This is “the perfect storm” for unequal protest!   
 

If you locate identical homes—even those not in your 
specific neighborhood but within the same subdivision— 
take photos, obtain the appraisal cards or other  
information necessary to demonstrate similarities.   
Adjust for differences using the Protest worksheet.  The 
ARB is more likely to approve an unequal value appeal 
than appraisers in an informal conference particularly 
if the analysis reveals inequality with regard to the 
land value.  
   

Except for the “perfect storm” you may want to hire a 
property tax consultant to present an unequal value case.   
 

Depreciation 
Depreciation impacts value.  There are three types: 
 

Þ Physical (condition—addressed by cost of repairs) 
Þ Functional (poor floor plan, overbuilt or over improved 

for neighborhood, easements—addressed by cost to correct) 
Þ Economic (foreclosures, oversupply of properties for sale, 

high interest rates—sales will typically reflect this through 
lower sale prices.) 
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* CAD appraisal card 

* Photos  Include front, back, areas needing repair—
anything to satisfy the ARB’s need to know  what the 
property looks like and any deterioration.  Label the photos. 

* Estimates or receipts of repairs   

* Map of sales, comparable properties and listings   
Use plat or neighborhood map 

* Protest Worksheet   Focus on the sales the CAD used 
(providing reasons why a sale is NOT comparable) as well 
as others you find that support your position.  The   
worksheet is particularly important when protesting for 
unequal value as it shows the adjustments.  You may want 
to separate land and improvement value for the comps,  
particularly in determining whether land value should be 
reduced.  The worksheet, properly adjusted, will provide a 
range in value for your property.  Be prepared to discuss 
how you arrived at your estimate of value.   

* Appraisal by fee appraiser   The CAD is required to  
accept a “fee appraisal” if it meets the requirements of the 
Tax Code Section 41.43 (see Definitions). 

 
 

Practice your presentation.    Know what you intend to 
say.  Keep it simple.  Be prepared to present the case in 
four minutes or less.  Be concise.  Keep in mind that  
you have the  advantage of being able to out-prepare the 
CAD.  You have one property, they have thousands.  
 

The Hearing  
Participants at the hearing include the three member 
ARB panel, a CAD appraiser and clerk recording it.   
The proceedings (typically lasting about 20 minutes) will  
be conducted by the panel chair after introductions and  
a brief description of the process as well as your right to 
complete a State survey online or in writing.  All parties 
will be sworn in.  The legal description, address and  
account number are read into the record. 
 

Both you and the CAD have an opportunity to present 
information and resolve any disputes about the property 
that should have been resolved in the informal meeting 
(incorrect square footage, etc.).   
 

If an offer for reduction was made by the appraiser in 
the informal, include that in your opening statement!   
Present any written offer (such as an email) as evidence to 
support at least a partial reduction.  Questions and  
closing remarks are permitted.  Thank the ARB and  
remind the panel that Texas law requires each property 
to be appraised on its individual characteristics.  State 
why your property is different from the sales.  Note that 
the CAD has the burden of proving its value by a  
preponderance of the evidence and if the CAD fails to 
meet that standard, the protest shall be in favor of the 
property owner (Section 41.43 of the Texas Tax Code).    
 

The  ARB panel may deliberate and will  
announce a decision.  It may reduce the value 
or leave it alone—it can not increase the value 
(unless agreed to by you or involves an exemption  
or denial of agricultural use)!  It must issue a  

Meeting with the Appraiser  
Since you must now file a formal protest in order to 
meet with an appraiser, you will likely have the sales in  
advance so review them and be prepared to discuss the 
differences and/or why they are not truly comparable to 
your property.  The meeting with the appraiser is the best 
opportunity to both obtain and provide information.   
 

Consider a visit to the CAD a fishing trip!  Have they 
considered all adjustments to bring the sales in line with 
the condition and features of your property (including 
lowering the quality which will reduce the price/square foot)?  
Discuss the differences.  Present bids, estimates of repairs 
and photos.  Complete the Improvements Listing.  Your 
knowledge of the neighborhood and adverse conditions 
that may exist may be unknown to the CAD (excessive 
traffic, propensity for flooding, foreclosures, abundance of  
properties for sale, crime rates, pipeline or electrical easements).   
 

When talking with the appraiser, understand the value 
of a reduction—do not walk away from a $10,000 offer 
(±$300 in taxes) over a $1,000 disagreement (±$30 in taxes). 
 

Give the appraiser time to consider your information.  He 
or she will try to reach an agreement.  If one is reached, 
you will be asked to sign a waiver and agree to the value.  
Do not feel forced to accept an offer.  (Some appraisers 
will state reductions are ‘off the table’ if you go to the ARB 
and, although not bound by an offer, the ARB should consider 
offers made by the CAD appraisers if they are reasonable—
especially if you can get the appraiser to note it on your notice 
or if you have an actual email with an offer from filing online.) 
  

If unable to reach an agreement, ask to be rescheduled for 
an ARB hearing at a later date.  It is in your best interest 
to be prepared for the ARB!  You are legally entitled to 
one reschedule.  NOTE:  ARBs are required to provide 
for hearings on a Saturday or after 5:00 pm weekdays. 

The ARB  
Section 41.461 of the Tax Code requires the following be 
provided at least 14 days before a hearing: 
   

1) Taxpayer Rights and Remedies 
2) ARB hearing procedures 
3) Information pertaining to your right to receive copies 

of the data, schedules, formulas and information that 
will be introduced at the hearing.  (CADs may NOT 
use any other evidence.)  Further, Section 41.67(d)  
provides that if information is requested but not  
delivered at least 14 days before the hearing it may 
NOT be used by the CAD in the hearing.  Certified 
mail is the best method of documenting receipt but 
so is email.  

 

Assemble a packet for the hearing (original + four copies): 
 

* Summary sheet   A brief description of the property, date 
purchased and amount, the CAD and your opinion of  
value, reason for the protest and a list of packet contents. 

* Appraisal notice from CAD if you have one 
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Chief Appraisers may maintain a list of people 
who provide free assistance to homeowners! 

written order via certified mail within 30 days (in counties 
of less than 4M) along with information regarding the right 
to sue in District Court or go to arbitration.   
 

Be aware that if disputes regarding the property cannot 
be resolved (particularly regarding the accuracy of CAD  
information), the ARB chair may recess the hearing for a field 
check and continue the hearing after it is completed.  If you 
believe the CAD records are inaccurate, pursue this! 
 

Other:  The Chief Appraiser and property owner (or agent) 
may file an agreed joint motion on a value with the ARB.  
The ARB must issue an order within five days.  
 
 
 

Appealing an ARB Order 
If not satisfied with the ARB decision, your options are to 
file a lawsuit in State District Court or request arbitration.  
Few lawsuits actually make it to a courtroom as  
agreements are typically reached before then.  This is a 
great option for those with an attorney in the family or if 
you are not intimidated by legalities. 
 

Binding Arbitration A Viable Option 
Although initially a costly option, binding arbitration is a 
good alternative to filing a lawsuit.  Preparation is similar 
to preparing for the ARB but an independent, impartial 
third party hears and examines the facts then makes a 
decision that is binding on both parties. 
 

The ARB will provide an ‘order of determination’ after the 
formal hearing.  If the disputed value does not exceed 
$5M (except for residence homesteads for which there is no  
limit), the taxes have been paid, you have not filed a  
lawsuit, and the request is timely and properly filed, you 
are eligible for this option (assuming the dispute pertains to 
value not denial of an exemption, etc.). 
 

An arbitration request form may be filed online through 
the Comptroller Online Arbitration Center along with 
payment (fees range from $450 to $1,550) within 60 days of 
the ARB order.  The form, along with a money order or 
cashiers check may also be mailed or delivered to the 
CAD.  The CAD is required to forward the request and 
payment to the Comptroller within 10 days. 
   

The Comptroller may not reject an application unless a 
defect is not corrected within 15 days of notice.  Once  
approved, the Comptroller will appoint an arbitrator 
whom will set a date, time and place for a hearing.   
 

The arbitration could be in person, by teleconference or 
via submission of documents (both you and the CAD must 
agree to this).  Since the CAD had the advantage before, 

If a value is lowered by the ARB or in arbitration, 
it may not be increased the next year unless supported 
by clear and convincing evidence (except for unequal  

protests) under 23.01(e) of the Texas Tax Code 

make suggestions to the arbitrator for a location that you 
are comfortable with.   
 

The arbitrator is required to provide hearing procedures 
that will be used.  You may hire a property tax consultant, 
attorney, real estate broker/agent, CPA or appraiser to 
attend the hearing with you or on your behalf (if on your 
behalf, a designation of agent form must be submitted with the 
application).  Having a tax professional is a good decision! 
 

You will present your case and the CAD will present the 
ARB case.  Time constraints in an arbitration are not as 
restrictive as the ARB hearing.  Take your time and lay out 
the entire case.  Bring evidence and explain why your  
value is more appropriate than the ARB’s.  
 

The arbitrator shall deliver a copy of the award to the 
property owner, CAD and Comptroller within 20 days.   
If the award is nearer in value to the property owner  
estimate, the Comptroller shall refund the property  
owner all but $50 of the deposit and the CAD pays the  
arbitrator’s fee. Be aware that the value could be lowered 
but not sufficiently to reduce the fee.  It could also be left 
at the ARB value.  The decision of the arbitrator is final 
and binding on all parties (unless fraud, corruption or  
willful misbehavior occurred). 
 

Before attempting arbitration, review the information 
available on the Comptroller’s website at https://
comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/property-tax/arbitration/.  
 

Protest Savvy  
A. Don’t miss the May 15th deadline (or 30 days from  

notice date) to postmark/mail the formal protest form.  
If you did not receive a notice, go online to see if the 
value increased (newest values posted after notices are 
mailed which is typically by mid April).  Late protests are  
allowed for good cause (e.g. medical). 

B. If your value increased, it is likely your neighbors did 
as well.  Ask.  Encourage everyone to protest. 

C. If a property is well maintained, the effective age will 
be less than the actual age.  Check the records and 
condition of your property.   

D. Contact buyers, sellers or agents about sales.  Was  
personal property included?  Was either party highly 
motivated?  This means the sale does not conform to 
the market value definition.  Were there special  
circumstances?  Do your homework! 

Be aware of “neighborhood adjustment factors” which are developed and used to adjust prices per square foot to 
bring them up to what the market is indicating cost/square foot should be.  Ask for a clear and concise explanation 

of this factor (in the ARB hearing) and if one cannot be provided, the CAD has failed to prove its value.  
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Disclaimer:  This information is intended to help lower 
your value at most CADs.  Procedures may vary from one 
CAD to another.  No guarantees are made regarding your 
success when protesting.  Extensive research and official 
sources were used to compile this brochure.  There is no 
substitute for professional or legal advice and your own 
common sense. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Presented courtesy of: 
 

 Cheryl E. Johnson, PCC, CTOP 
 Galveston County Tax Assessor Collector 
  722   21st Street, Galveston, Texas 77550 
  1-409-766-2260 
  Cheryl.E.Johnson@co.galveston.tx.us 

 

Resources 
Galveston CAD 
www.galvestoncad.org                1-409-935-1980 
Email: gcad@galvestoncad.org       FAX (409) 935-4319 

 

Krystal McKinney, Chief Appraiser    
kmckinney@galvestoncad.org 
 

Don Gartman, Chairman, Board of Directors 
D.gartman@sbcglobal.net 
 

Norman Franzke, Taxpayer Liaison Officer 
Email:  liaison@galvestoncad.org 

 

Harris CAD 
www.hcad.org                   713-957-7800 
Email:  help@hcad.org 
 

Teresa Terry, HCAD Taxpayer Liaison Officer 
Email:  tterry@hcad.org 

 

Galveston County Tax Office 
www.galcotax.com  1-877-766-2284 
Email:  galcotax@co.galveston.tx.us 
 

Harris County Tax Office 
www.hctax.net  713-368-2000 
Email:  tax.office@hctx.net 
 

Texas Comptroller    
www.comptroller.texas.gov/taxinfo/proptax 
1-800-252-9121 (press 2 then 1 for Info Services team) 
Email:  ptad.cpa@cpa.texas.gov 

 

Possible Sources of Sales       
www.online-home-values.com         www.har.com                               
www.housevalues.com                      www.zillow.com 

E. The computer performed an analysis of information 
inputted.  You must prove the data is inaccurate or 
that important information is omitted. 

F. The CAD has the burden of proof in an ARB hearing 
or when an appraisal <180 days old is presented. 

G. Tell the truth.  Lose credibility and you lose your case. 
H. The CAD and ARB panel members are not interested 

in buying your property so don’t suggest it. 
I. Avoid name calling (YOU PEOPLE is not well 

received).  Do not get angry.  Be positive and 
polite.  Relax.   

J. Crying doesn’t help (but you can try and it 
may sway the ARB)  

Other Options 
Hire a Property Tax Consultant.  Several are listed below. 
 

Property Tax Agent                            Telephone 
Advaloremtax.net    281-957-9600 
Appealpropertytax.com   713-526-1465 
Bettencourt Tax Advisors  713-263-6100 
Harding & Carbone Inc         713-664-1215 
Mefferd & Associates PC  713-376-5583 
Novotny & Company  713-932-7672 
OConnor & Associates  713-686-9955 
Premier Property Tax  281-304-5222 
Property Tax Solutions  281-482-6300 
Republic Property Tax  713-609-9430 
Roberts Tax Appeals                 713-703-6532 

 
 

Definitions 
Acceptable appraisals are for properties with a value of 
$1M or less.  The appraisal must be filed with the ARB 
and delivered to the chief appraiser no later than 14 days 
before the hearing, must support the value claimed by the 
owner and have been performed by a certified appraiser 
(under Occupations Code Chapter 1103) not later than 180 
days before the date of the first hearing.  It must be  
notarized, include the name and business address of the 
appraiser, description of the property, a statement that  
the appraised or market value was as of January 1, was  
determined using a method of appraisal authorized or 
required by Chapter 23 of the Tax Code and performed  
in accordance with USPAP. 
 

Acceptable sales must have occurred within 36 months  
of the date of value in counties of 150,000 or more  
including foreclosures and sales in a declining economy. 
 

Market value is the price at which a property would sell 
for under prevailing market conditions if:  “(a) exposed 
for sale in the open market with a reasonable time for the 
seller to find a purchaser; (b) both the seller and the  
purchaser know of all the uses and purposes to which the 
property is adapted and for which it is capable of being 
used and of the enforceable restrictions on its use; and (c) 
both the seller and purchaser seek to maximize their gains 
and neither is in a position to take advantage of the  
exigencies of the other” Tax Code Section 1.04(7).  This 

means that when sales involve a highly motivated buyer 
(or seller), they do not represent market value.  
 

Typically referred to as “neighborhoods” comparable 
properties “...shall be determined based on similarities 
with regard to location, square footage of the lot and  
improvements, property age, property condition,  
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Complete improvements listing using  
appraisal card as shown in the example on 

previous page or from CAD website 
(www.galvestoncad.org) as shown here. 

$623,415 
+ 39,475 
$662,890 

 

Appraisal card (shown below) available via email or telephone. Online info. shown at right. 

 

Neighborhood Adjustment Factors (updated in 2020) 

7KLV�FDUG�LV�SURYLGHG�ZLWK�HYL�
GHQFH�SDFNHW���$VN�IRU�FDUG�ZLWK�

VNHWFK�IRU�\RXU�SURSHUW\� 

1RWH���9DOXH�ORZHUHG�WR�
�����������&ODVV�&RGH�ORZHUHG�
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR USING IMPROVEMENT 
BLANKS AND SPREADSHEET 

 

The purpose is to become familiar with your property and 
others that are being used to increase your value and to  
perform a comparison.  Once you have identified the  
neighborhood, see if there are identical houses in it or in 
your entire subdivision (this is best for unequal value).  When 
filing the formal protest with the CAD, you will be able to 
request the evidence packet which will include the sales 
used.  Obtain the appraisal card for your property and 
verify accuracy of improvements listed. 
 
Follow the steps below to perform a comparison.  This is 
useful for discussing the differences between their sales and 
how they differ from your house.  You likely have more 
knowledge of these properties than the CAD and you  
certainly know more about your house than they do! 
    
1. Download the 2023.Protest Worksheets.xlsx 

(www.galcotax.com/Home Page or Property Tax/Protest 
Information).    

2. Complete Improvements Listing using CAD appraisal 
cards, information on the CAD website or the Residential 
Equity Taxpayer Evidence Packet Report.  A blank  
Improvements Listing Using Web Information is on 
page 10. 

3. Complete top row of Spreadsheet 4 You to Use (if you 
cannot open, try a different web browser) with your 
property info and comparable properties using  
Improvements Listing.  

4. If the condition of your property is below the norm for 
the neighborhood and the CAD has 100% under DEPR, 
you will need to determine the total cost of repairs.  Di-
vide that amount by the Imp Value to determine the 
Cond % (eg $10,000 in repairs ÷ $196,110 = 5% condition 
adjustment.  Subject from 100.)   Enter 95% as the Cond %.  
See Instruction and Dep Calculator tab in spreadsheet.    

5. As you enter information, the shaded cells will  
automatically calculate and adjust the comps to your 
property.  An adjusted value will result in the Adj Value 
column.  

6. Complete INDICATED VALUE RANGE at bottom.  In  
determining those most like yours, which required the 
least adjustments, have similar features such as size, 
class code, age and other improvements?  If you do not 
have a pool, do not use that comp unless all other factors 
are the same.   
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RESIDENTIAL CLASS (classification) CODES 
 

Residential class codes are a measure of complexity that effects the cost of construction.  The codes define the exterior 
then grade of construction.  Structure types include B=brick, BH=beach house, F=frame and TH=townhome.  The five 
class code groupings used by GCAD follow.  Properties in a subdivision will have little difference in coding. 

 
Class 1-5 Low Quality Residence 

General Description:  Low quality structure, inexpensive materials, poor design, workmanship.  Not attractive in  appearance. 
                       

 Foundation: Concrete blocks, masonry or light slab, wood or concrete piers 
 Roof: Roll composition, metal, very light composition or wood shingles 
 Windows: 5                Corners: 4       Baths: One   
 Floors: Softwood, bare, light asphalt tile or low cost linoleum 
 H/C: Stove heaters and no CA, low cost window units  
 Utilities: Very few outlets, cheap fixtures        Garage:  None, very low cost carport   
 Size: 400-800 square feet of living area                               or garage  
 

Class 6-10 Fair Quality Residence 
General Description:  Minimum FHA/VA residence, fair design, materials & workmanship.  Small frame rear porch standard  
                       
 Foundation: Light concrete or pier and beam   
 Roof: Light composition or wood shingles 
 Windows: 6—8 Corners: 6  Baths: One 
 Floors: Low quality carpet, hardwood or tile 
 H/C: Small central heating units or wall heaters      Utilities: Basic outlets 
 Garage: One car garage or carport, concrete drive 
 Size: 800—1,200 square feet of living area 
 

Class 11—15 Average Quality Residence 
General Description:  FHA or VA standards; average materials, workmanship, standard design.  Front and rear porches.  “L” 
shape or other variation from rectangle. 
                       
 Foundation: Concrete slab, pier and beam       Roof: Composition or wood shingles 
 Windows: 7—9 Corners: 6—8 Baths: 11/2 to 2 baths 
 Floors: Carpet, tile or varnished hardwood 
 H/C: Central heat and air Utilities: Ample outlets, average fixtures 
 Garage: 1—2 car garage or carport, concrete drive 
 Size: 1,200—1,800 square feet of living area 
 

Class 16—20  Good Quality Residence 
General Description:    Very good structure built of excellent materials, design and workmanship.  Usually custom built from 
good architectural plans, attractive in appearance.  Irregular shape.  Large front and rear porches or patios. 
                       
 Foundation: Heavy concrete slab or pier and beam 
 Roof: Heavy comp or wood shingles, tile or built-up 
 Windows: 12-14 Corners: 10-12 Baths: 2-3, custom features  
 Floors: Good quality carpet, tile or varnished hardwood 
 H/C: Central heat & air Utilities: Custom features 
 Garage: 2-3 car garage or carport, concrete drive  Extras: Fireplace 
 Size: 2,300-3,000 square feet of living area 
 

Class 21—24  Excellent Quality Residence 
General Description:    High quality structure of excellent materials, design and workmanship.  Custom built from good  
architectural plans, attractive in appearance.  Large balconies, skylights, atriums or saunas. 
                       
 Foundation: Heavy concrete slab or high quality pier and beam 
 Roof: Heavy wood shingles or high quality composition or tile 
 Windows: 14-16 Corners: 10-12 
 Floors: High quality carpet, tile or terrazzo 
 H/C: Central heat & air Utilities:  Numerous outlets, custom features 
 Baths: 3-4 baths, custom fixtures    
 Garage: 3-4 car garage, concrete approach  Extras: Fireplace 
 Size: Over 3,000 square feet of living area 
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LAND & IMPROVEMENT CODES 
Land Codes 
BA Back Acreage 
BF  Beach Front 
BX  Boat Slip 
BV  Beach View 
CDO Condo Land 
CL  Commercial Lot 
CN  Canal 
CO  Commercial Acreage                    
CR  Corner 
DE  Drainage Easement 
DKM  Dockominiums 
DS  Drill Site 
FR  Freeway Frtg. 
GB  Green Belt 
GC  Golf Course 
GF  Golf Course  
IL  Interior Land 
IND  Industrial 
LT  Lot 
ML  Marshland 
NP  Native Pasture 
OS  Oversized Lot 
OT  Other 
PF  Primary Frtg 
PL  Pipeline 
PU  Public Use 
PWL  Power line 
RF  Road Frontage 
RH  Rural House 
RL  Residential Lot 
RS  Residential 
RW  Right of Way 
SF  Secondary Frtg. 
SV  Site Value 
TL  Townhome  
UN  Undeveloped 
UW  Underwater 
WA  Wood Acreage 
WF  Water Front 
WL  Wasteland 
WV  Water View 
Improvement Types 
BD1 Light Boat Dock 
BD2 Medium Boat Dock 
BD3 Heavy Boat Dock 
BZ Breezeway 
CP1 Carport, Wood/Conc. 
CP2 Carport 2, Wood/Dirt 

CP3 Carport 3, Metal/Dirt 
CP4 Carport 4 Under BH 
CPY Canopy 
DG Detached Garage 
EP Enclosed Porch 
FBH Metal/Frame Boat House 
ELV Elevator or Dumbwaiter 
FUB Metal/Frame Utility Bldg. 
GA Attached Garage 
GH Greenhouse 
HO Hoist 
HT Hot tub/Jacuzzi 
LPOOL Large Pool 
MA Main Area 1 Story 
MA1 Main Area 1.5 Story 
MA2 Main Area 2 Story 
MA2.5 Main Area 2.5 Story 
MA3 Main Area 3 Story 
MAA Main Area Addition 
                    or Mobile Home 
MBH Masonry Boat House 
MUB Masonry Utility Bldg. 
OB Out Building 
SP Screen Porch 
SPA Spa 
SPool Small Pool 
ST Storage (attached 2 house) 
STG Storage (det. from house) 
SV Salvage 
WD Wood Deck 
XPool Extra Large Pool 
 
Building Attributes 
Construction Style 
SF-M Single Family Modern 
SF-C Single Family Conv. 
SF-S Single Family Spanish 
MF-C Multi Family Conv. 
R-CT Recreation Type 
L-CM Light Commercial 
Structure Types 
B Brick 
BH Beach house 
F Frame 
TH Townhouse 
Exterior Finish 
BV Brick Veneer 
WF Wood Frame 
COMP Composition 

                                                     Condition Ratings Guide 
 

Code Rating          Definition  
     1 Excellent  Building is in perfect condition, very attractive and highly desirable. 
     2 Very Good  Slight evidence of deterioration; still attractive, quite desirable 
     3 Good  Minor deterioration visible; slightly less attractive and desirable but useful. 
     4 Average  Normal wear and tear apparent; average attractiveness and desirability. 
     5 Fair   Marked deterioration but quite us able; rather unattractive and undesirable. 
     6 Poor   Definite deterioration is obvious; definitely undesirable and barely usable. 
     7 Very Poor  Condition approaches unsoundness; extremely undesirable; barely usable. 
     8 Unsound  Building is unsound and practically unfit for use. 

ST Stucco 
CB Concrete Blocks 
A.S Asbestos 
BW Brick & Wood 
SV Stone 
SI Sheet Iron 
SS Structural Steel 
Roof Style 
HP Hip 
GA Gable 
WS Wood Shingle 
CS Comp Shingle 
TG Tar & Gravel 
TI Tile 
RA Rigid Asbestos 
RC Rolled Composition 
MT Metal 
Plumbing 
1 One Full Bath 
1.5 One & One-Half 
2, etc. Two Full Baths, etc. 
Foundation 
CS Concrete Slab 
PB Pier & Beam 
WPR Wood Piers 
WPL Wood Pilings 
PT Post Tension Conc. 
Heating / AC 
CA Central Air 
CH Central Heat 
ST Stove or Gas Jets 
WH Wall/Floor Furnace  
Flooring 
CP Carpet 
VI Vinyl 
HW Hard Wood 
CO Concrete 
TI Tile 
TE Terrazzo 
 

Interior Finish 
SR Sheetrock 
PA Panel 
WP Wallpaper 
Fireplaces 
HE Heatalator 
FP Fireplace 
FP1 Fireplace Class 1 
FP2 Fireplace Class 2 
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With limited qualifiers, Section 41.43 of the Tax Code establishes that CADs have the burden of  
establishing the value by a preponderance of the evidence presented at the hearing.  If the CAD fails to 

meet that standard, protests shall be determined in favor of the property owner. 


