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Effective October 14, 2020, the County Judge of each county may choose to opt in with the Texas Alcoholic 
Beverage Commission (TABC) to allow bars or similar establishments to operate with in-person service.  Bars or 
similar establishments located in counties that have opted in may operate for in-person service up to 50% of 
the total listed occupancy inside the bar or similar establishment, but all customers must be seated while eating 
or drinking at the bar or similar establishment.  There is no occupancy limit outdoors at a bar or similar 
establishment.  Bar or similar establishment employees are not counted toward the occupancy limitation. For 
these purposes, bars or similar establishments are establishments with a permit from TABC that are not 

otherwise considered restaurants.  All employees and customers must wear a face covering (over the nose 
and mouth) wherever it is not feasible to maintain 6 feet of social distancing from another individual not 
in the same household, except when seated at the bar or similar establishment to eat or drink. 

The following are the minimum recommended health protocols for all bars or similar establishments choosing to 
operate in Texas.  Bars or similar establishments may adopt additional protocols consistent with their specific 
needs and circumstances to help protect the health and safety of all employees, contractors, and customers. 

The virus that causes COVID-19 can be spread to others by infected persons who have few or no symptoms.  Even 
if an infected person is only mildly ill, the people they could spread it to may become seriously ill or even die, 
especially if they are 65 or older with pre-existing health conditions that place them at higher risk.  Because of the 
concealed nature of this threat, everyone should rigorously follow the practices specified in these protocols, all of 
which facilitate a safe and measured reopening of Texas.  The virus that causes COVID-19 is still circulating in our 
communities.  We should continue to observe practices that protect everyone, including the most vulnerable. 

Please note, public health guidance cannot anticipate or address every unique situation.  Bars or similar 
establishments should stay informed and take actions based on common sense and wise judgment that will 
protect health and support economic revitalization.  Bars or similar establishments should also be mindful of 
federal and state employment and disability laws, workplace safety standards, and accessibility standards to 
address the needs of both workers and customers. 

Health protocols for serving your customers: 

 Customers may not loiter at the bar or in commonly trafficked areas, and should remain seated at tables at 
the bar or similar establishment.  

 Only provide service to seated individuals, except as provided below. 

 Breweries, wineries, and distilleries may serve customers standing at a counter if the customers are 
sampling products from the establishment.  Groups at the counter may not exceed 6 individuals, and 
must be separated from other groups by either 6 feet of separation or an engineering control such as 
a partition.  

 Groups must maintain at least 6 feet of distance from other groups at all times, including while waiting to 
be seated in the bar or similar establishment.  The 6 feet of distance between groups seated at different 
tables is not required if the bar or similar establishment provides engineering controls, such as a partition, 
between the tables. 

 A booth may be next to another booth as long as a partition is constructed between the booths, and 
that partition is at least 6 feet tall above ground level. 

 Tables should generally be at least 6 feet apart from any part of another table.  However, a bar or 
similar establishment may have tables at least 4 feet apart from any part of another table, provided 
the bar or similar establishment uses a partition between the tables that is at least 6 feet tall and 6 
feet wide.  
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 As recommended by the bar and nightclub industry, keep dance floors closed.  Activities that enable close 
human contact are discouraged. 

 Pathways for patrons’ ingress and egress should be clear and unobstructed. 

 Designate staff to ensure customers maintain a 6-foot distance between groups if customers are waiting to 
enter the bar or similar establishment.  

 A hand sanitizing station should be available upon entry to the establishment. 

 No tables of more than 6 people. 

 Dining: 

 Do not leave condiments, silverware, flatware, glassware, or other traditional table top items on an 
unoccupied table. 

 Provide condiments only upon request, and in single use (non-reusable) portions or in reusable 
containers that are cleaned and disinfected after each use. 

 Use disposable menus (new for each patron), or clean and disinfect reusable menus after each use.  

 If a buffet is offered, employees should serve the food to customers. 

 Ensure spacing of individuals within the establishment to keep a 6-foot distance between individuals in 
different groups. 

 Tables or chairs must be installed to seat all customers to maintain social distancing, and may not be 
moved. 

 Consider positioning an unoccupied table or other object adjacent to each occupied table, creating 
space to permanently maintain a 6-foot distance between groups. 

 Take orders from customers seated at a table or by web/phone application. 

 Contactless payment is encouraged.  Where not available, contact should be minimized.  Both parties 
should wash or sanitize hands after the payment process. 

Health protocols for your employees and contractors: 

 Train all employees and contractors on appropriate cleaning and disinfection, hand hygiene, and 
respiratory etiquette. 

 Screen employees and contractors before coming into the bar or similar establishment:   

 Send home any employee or contractor who has any of the following new or worsening signs or 
symptoms of possible COVID-19: 

- Cough 

- Shortness of breath or difficulty 

breathing 

- Chills 
- Repeated shaking with chills 

- Muscle pain 
- Headache 

- Sore throat 

- Loss of taste or smell 

- Diarrhea 

- Feeling feverish or a measured temperature greater 
than or equal to 100.0 degrees Fahrenheit 

- Known close contact with a person who is lab 
confirmed to have COVID-19
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 Do not allow employees or contractors with the new or worsening signs or symptoms listed above to 
return to work until: 

- In the case of an employee or contractor who was diagnosed with COVID-19, the individual 
meets all three of the following criteria: at least three days (72 hours) have passed since recovery 
(resolution of fever without the use of fever-reducing medications); and the individual has 
improvement in symptoms (e.g., cough, shortness of breath); and at least ten days have passed 
since symptoms first appeared; or 

- In the case of an employee or contractor who has symptoms that could be COVID-19 and does 
not get evaluated by a medical professional or tested for COVID-19, the individual should be 
assumed to have COVID-19, and the individual may not return to work until the individual has 
completed the same three-step criteria listed above; or 

- If the employee or contractor has symptoms that could be COVID-19 and wants to return to 
work before completing the above self-isolation period, the individual must obtain a medical 
professional’s note clearing the individual for return based on an alternative diagnosis. 

 Do not allow an employee or contractor with known close contact to a person who is lab-confirmed 
to have COVID-19 to return to work until the end of the 14-day self-quarantine period from the last 
date of exposure (with an exception granted for healthcare workers and critical infrastructure 
workers). 

 Have employees and contractors wash or sanitize their hands upon entering the bar or similar 
establishment, and between interactions with customers. 

 Have employees and contractors maintain at least 6 feet of separation from other individuals.  If this 
distancing is not feasible, measures such as face covering, hand hygiene, cough etiquette, cleanliness, and 
sanitation should be rigorously practiced.  

Health protocols for your facilities: 

 Consider having an employee or contractor manage and control access to the bar or similar establishment, 
including opening doors to prevent attendees from touching door handles. 

 Take steps to ensure 6 feet of social distancing is maintained at the bar or similar establishment between 
individual patrons, between patrons and waitstaff, and between patrons and bar items such as clean 
glassware and ice.  Such separation may be obtained by ensuring bartenders remain at least 6 feet from 
customers at the bar, such as by taping off or otherwise blocking bartenders from being within 6 feet of a 
seated customer, or the use of engineering controls, such as dividers, to keep individuals and/or the bar 
separate from other individuals.  

 Regularly and frequently clean and disinfect any regularly touched surfaces, such as doorknobs, tables, and 
chairs. 

 Regularly and frequently clean restrooms, and document the cleanings. 

 Disinfect any items that customers contact. 

 Make hand sanitizer, disinfecting wipes, soap and water, or similar disinfectant readily available to 
employees and customers. 

 Consider placing readily visible signs at the bar or similar establishment to remind everyone of best hygiene 
practices.  

 Clean and disinfect the area used by customers (e.g., tables, chairs, etc.) after each group of customers 
depart, including the disinfecting of tables, chairs, stalls, and countertops. 

  

https://www.dshs.state.tx.us/coronavirus/docs/DSHS-COVID19-WhatToDo-Flyer.pdf
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 Clean and sanitize the bar daily. 

 For bars or similar establishments with more than 10 employees and/or contractors present at one time, 
consider having an individual wholly or partially dedicated to ensuring the health protocols adopted by the 
establishment are being successfully implemented and followed. 

 TABC staff should monitor bars throughout the state of Texas to ensure compliance with these 
protocols.  TABC has the authority to suspend any license that poses an immediate threat or danger to 
public safety.  Failure to follow these protocols may result in a 30-day license suspension for the first 
infraction, and a 60-day suspension for a second infraction. 

If you have video game equipment or other interactive amusements: 

 Assign at least one employee or contractor full time to disinfect the video games and other interactive 
amusements.  Continuous disinfecting is needed to protect customers. 

 Disinfect all gaming equipment before and after customer use. 

 Provide equipment disinfecting products throughout facility for use on equipment. 

 Ensure only one player can play a game at a time. 

 Provide for at least 6 feet of separation between games. 

Health protocols for valet parking services: 

 Take the temperature of each employee or contractor at the beginning of each shift. 

 Utilize the following personal protective equipment for employees and contractors: 

 Cloth face coverings over the nose and mouth, or, if available, non-medical grade face masks over 
the nose and mouth 

 Single-use disposable gloves that are changed between every interaction with customers and/or 
vehicles 

 Vehicle door handles, ignition switch, steering wheel, and shift knob should be wiped with disinfectant as 
the valet employee enters and exits the vehicle. 

 All workstations and work equipment should be cleaned at the start and the end of each shift, as well as 
every hour during the shift.  These workstations should include the valet podium, key storage locker, 
tablets, fee computers, receipt printers, etc. 

 Valet parking operators should employ contactless payment whenever possible.  

 For high-volume operations, appropriate physical distancing indicators should be established to ensure 
customers maintain at least 6 feet of distance as they wait for their vehicle. 

 Where possible, alternative parking options should be provided for customers who are uncomfortable with 
valet parking.   

 Wash or disinfect hands upon entering a business and after any interaction with employees, other 
customers, or items in the business. 

 Make hand sanitizer, disinfecting wipes, soap and water, or similar disinfectant readily available to 
employees, contractors, and customers. 

 Have employees and contractors maintain at least 6 feet of separation from other individuals.   

 


